• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Events

Home, mobility and translocality: Muslim identities between the post-Soviet space, Europe and Turkey

18+
*recommended age

Institute for Social Policy and School of Sociology, HSE University, MoscowWith support from the Heinrich Böll Foundation in Russia, Department of Labour, Social Affairs and Healthcare of the German Embassy in Moscow, and the French-Russian Research Center for Social Sciences in Moscow 24-25 October 2019. Myasnitskaya, 11 and Myasnitskaya, 20

The workshop aims to bring together post-Soviet, European and Turkish Muslim experiences of home, mobility and translocality to explore commonalities and differences between these regions through the lens of space and belonging. By drawing comparisons, the workshop also seeks to interrogate current theoretical and methodological approaches to the study of Muslim identities.

A central concern that the workshop wants to address is the tension between a “lived” Islam and efforts to develop discursive, secular conceptions of a normative Islam. How does the legacy of rational, secularist ideals influence the way in which Muslims live and practice their religion? How are contemporary theoretical approaches to Islam, in particular the debate about everyday Islam, transposed in the particular post-Soviet context? Do we need new approaches to approach Muslim experiences in this region?

Another key area of exploration and comparison is the question of the local and transnational dimension of Islam. The workshop aims to investigate the formation or recreation of a Muslim space between the post-Soviet space, Europe and Turkey after the end of the Soviet Union in the form of connections and linkages established by networks of Muslim migrants, students and traders and religious organisations. What experiences and conceptions of regional Muslim identities emerge in these networks, for example in relation to the notion of a “Eurasian Islam”? How do post-Soviet Muslims relate to their religion while travelling for knowledge in countries such as Turkey or during migration experiences in European countries? How do Muslim transnational networks challenge or nurture the idea of a locally defined Islam? Finally, we aim to discuss the place of Islam in the current dichotomy between a “liberal West” and a “conservative East” (within the discussion about Russia and the West) and the way Muslims experience, react to and challenge this conceptual boundary.

Organisers:

Lili Di Puppo (HSE University)

Dmitry Oparin (HSE University; Moscow State University)

List of participants

Marie-Laure Boursin (Aix en Provence University)

Lili Di Puppo (HSE University)

Iwona Kaliszewska (University of Warsaw)

Dmitry Oparin (HSE University)

Katarzyna Puzon (Humboldt University)

Eva Rogaar (Illinois University)

Jesko Schmoller (Perm State University / Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient, Berlin)

Manja Stephan-Emmrich (Humboldt University)

Fabio Vicini (Istanbul 29 Mayis University / School of Religious Studies, McGill University)

Jeremy F. Walton (Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity)

Ahmet Yarlikapov (MGIMO)

If you need a pass in order to enter HSE, please contact dimaoparin@hotmail.com before 12.00 on October 23, 2019.

Programm on the link

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

Мероприятия

Воркшоп «Дом, мобильность и транслокальность: мусульманская идентичность между пост-советским пространством, Европой и Турцией»

18+

24-25 октября 2019 года состоится Воркшоп «Дом, мобильность и транслокальность: мусульманская идентичность между пост-советским пространством, Европой и Турцией».
Организаторы - Институт социальной политики и Школа социологии НИУ ВШЭ при поддержке Фонда Генриха Бёлля в России, Департамента труда, социальных дел и здравоохранения посольства Германии в Москве и Центра франко-российских исследований в Москве. (Мясницкая, 11 и Мясницкая, 20)

Цель воркошопа заключается в исследовании пост-советского, европейского и турецкого опыта мобильности и транслокальности, рассмотрении различий и сходств опыта этих регионов через призму пространства и принадлежности. На конференции особенное внимание будет уделено также современным теоретическим и методологическим подходам в исследовании мусульманской идентичности.

Одна из ключевых тем, которую затрагивает воркшоп  - это противоречия и взаимовлияния между повседневным исламом и «нормативным» исламом. Как наследие светских идеалов влияет на то, как мусульмане живут и исповедуют свою религию? Как современные теоретические подходы к исламу, в частности дебаты о повседневном исламе, переносятся в конкретный постсоветский контекст? Нужны ли нам новые подходы, чтобы исследовать опыт мусульман в этом регионе?

Другой важной темой воркшопа станет вопрос соотношения местного и транснационального измерений ислама. Одной из целей семинара является исследование формирования или воссоздания мусульманского пространства между странами бывшего Советского Союза, Европой и Турцией в форме связей, устанавливаемых сетями мусульманских мигрантов, студентов, бизнесменов и религиозных организаций. Какой опыт и концепции региональной мусульманской идентичности появляются в этих сетях, например, в связи с понятием «евразийский ислам»? Как меняется религиозность российских мусульман во время образовательных поездок в такие страны, как Турция, или во ходе миграционного опыта в европейских странах? Как мусульманские транснациональные сети бросают вызов или развивают идею «местного» ислама? Наконец, мы стремимся обсудить место ислама в нынешней дихотомии между «либеральным Западом» и «консервативным Востоком» (в рамках дискуссии о России и Западе) и то, как мусульмане воспринимают и оспаривают эту концептуальную границу.

Организаторы

Лили Ди Пуппо (НИУ ВШЭ, Москва)

Дмитрий Опарин (НИУ ВШЭ, Москва; МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова)

Список докладчиков:

Мари-Лор Бурсан (Aix en Provence University)

Лили Ди Пуппо (НИУ ВШЭ, Москва)

Ивона Калишевска (Университет Варшавы)

Дмитрий Опарин (МГУ им. М.В. Ломоносова; НИУ ВШЭ, Москва)

Катаржина Пузон (Университет имени Гумбольдта, Берлин)

Ева Рогаар (Университет Иллинойса)

Еско Шмоллер (Perm State University / Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient, Berlin)

Маня Штефан-Эммрих (Университет имени Гумбольдта, Берлин)

Фабио Вичини (Istanbul 29 Mayis University / School of Religious Studies, McGill University)

Джереми Вальтон (Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity)

Ахмет Ярлыкапов (МГИМО)

При необходимости заказа пропуска в здание НИУ ВШЭ, просьба, до 12:00 23 октября 2019 г. сообщить о своем участии на адрес: dimaoparin@hotmail.com

Рабочий язык: английский

Программа конференции по ссылке